This had to have been one of the last models made by Smith-Corona. We must be talking early 80’s here. I got it for $6, just to see what the last gasp of manual typers was like. Man, is this thing cheap! I have nothing against plastic per se, but ultra-cheap plastic is just not acceptable. One of the tab levers crumbled in my hand.

100_0870 Since it is a relatively small and flat machine, I’m guessing this was the end of the line for the Skyriter lineage. If so, then it came to a sad, sad end. I can’t imagine this thing lasting for more than a few term papers in the hands of a college student. At least I can get the sticky keys unstuck and let my daughter play with it – that’s about all a machine of this build quality is good for. A toy.

Like I said, I was curious what the last days of the manual machine were like. It made me instantly feel even more grateful for my SM9 and Olivetti 21 (which, by the way, I finally got around to fixing). Those were machines built to last a lifetime – machines meant to crank out thousands of hours of serious typing, typing, typing. I think I’ll go pound out a few pages of my story, now that I think about it. Happy Summer!