I’ve been wanting to get my hands on a full-sized desktop machine, but haven’t had much luck – until today. The best part was, it was free!  It’s a Smith Corona Deluxe Librarian. She’s all there, but needs a major de-gunking. A perfect candidate for the Liquid Wrench/Alcohol scrub routine that brought back my Olivetti 21. It’s a machine I can definitely imagine in a public library where equipment is expected to last a very long time. It’s got an all cast-metal enclosure with easily removable pieces, and a platen that can be removed with the flick of two levers. Very accessible for maintenance. Everything screams heavy duty on this machine. Judging from the styling, I’m guessing late 60’s to early 70’s. Maybe someone can give me a hand with the dating. I personally have never seen an SCM machine like this before. I hardly ever see Smith Corona desktops on eBay at all, so I was surprised when I picked it up. The girl said she was getting rid of it for her mother, who was the original owner. I told her I’d take good care of it. I have a few more weeks before school resumes and the Typewriter Meetup happens, so I’m hoping to get ‘er working soon. UPDATE: I just discovered this machine has a feature called Space-O-Matic, so when you hold down the space bar, it repeatedly spaces. Very cool. It’s like having an electric machine’s space bar without the electricity. Truly a cool piece of mechanical engineering. UPDATE II: According to Jay Respler at Advanced Business Machines, this machine was made in 1965. Thanks, Jay.

Ain't she purty?

Ain't she purty?

100_1018

Shh! Quiet!

Shh! Quiet!