meetup-revMr. Clark brought the Dayton portable, and a photo compilation of some of the machines in his collection. Unreal – he literally has hundreds of pieces, all from before 1930.

1920's era Dayton portable

1920's era Dayton portable

dayton-logo Mr. Brown brought a few other pieces of retrotech along with a portable, aluminum Blickensdorfer (not pictured)…..

stapler

Probably the coolest pencil sharpener I've ever seen

Probably the coolest pencil sharpener I've ever seen

Mr. Strange brought a few German-made portables from the 1930’s, like this DM (actually an early Olympia), and a Rheinmetall portable with removable carriage (not pictured), both in beautiful condition…

DM portablem (1930's)

DM portable (1930's)

To get a sense of scale on this next one, just know the wood base is around 8 inches long…

whim More machins were there, but in my haste to try them out, I forgot to get a picture. D’oh! Thanks again to everyone who made the trek – I really appreciate it. Next time, I’ll drive south to meet all of you.