I’ve added a few new machines over the last week. One was a machine I had been trying to get for a while, and one was an unexpected find.

Smith-Corona Silent Super (1950's)

Smith-Corona Silent Super (1950's)

I’ve wanted to try one of these for a while, and this one is in very good condition both cosmetically and mechanically. Really a sweet typer, and very well made with a newly re-covered platen (that pops out with the flick of a lever). The next one I found at Sal’s Boutique for the princely sum of $5 – it’s a model 5TE, one of the first electric portables. I’ve never bought an electric before, but I figured I could use it for parts in a pinch. It actually works very well. I may keep it…

Smith Corona Model 5TE electric (late '50's ?)

Smith Corona Model 5TE electric (late '50's ?)

I know it’s sacreligous (sp?) to go electric since I usually only get manual machines, but it looks just like the Super, so I made an impulse buy. It looked like it needed a good home anyway…